Which VR Experience?

I had already created a game last year in Unreal but it was not a VR experience. I did think to do another game but though I found creating the game challenging  though in the end went quite well the idea was quickly put away. I wanted a project that would have some benefit for the audience as well as a reason to keep going when i might feel overwhelmed by the work or not challenged enough.

I thought creating an experience for travel purposes would be a good point to start but how or where? I recently watch a bollywood movie ‘Bajirao Mastani,’ on a coach on a trip in Pakistan. The visual effects and the images were breathtaking and this got me thinking about how these types of images would look as 3D in VR.

Bajirao Mastani (2015)

the-sets-of-deewani-mastani-track-from-bajirao-mastani-is-now-a-museum-1 342526424

After having a conversation my grandmother told me about a film called ‘Mughal-E-Azam,’ (1960) which was filmed all in black and white accept for one song which was shot in colour. This was because of the expense of shooting in colour in those days but the director and producer wanted the audience to experience something which was visually brilliant and a privelidge to watch. My grandmother told me that if she can’t remember watching any other movie she definitely remembers this one because of the beauty, experience and hype.

Mughal-E-Azam (1960)

screen-shot-2016-10-08-at-21-59-22

After some research I found that the Taj Mahal fits the Mughal experience and beauty of the Bollywood films past and present. It is also one of the Seven Wonders of the World which inspired me that as well as a travel experience I could also use it as an educational tool so students can learn all about the history and values of why certain things are classed as Wonders. I also want viewers to have the same butterflies in their tummy as the experience my grandmother felt watching that song in colour with all its lavishness.

Leave a Reply

