Galaxy – glitch project

Galaxy

The day before the glitch assignment was due I was asked to create a galaxy in aftereffects. This was because we didn’t want the head to be animated in just black space. Karl was very helpful and showed me a youtube tutorial that he wanted me to follow.

I couldn’t do this during the lecture in the games lesson because I have to lipread as well as concentrate on the vocabulary when Haris was talking about the games module. I also had to help Steven with the recordings of the sound effects. We left late as well because we stayed on to continue with the glitch project. Karl asked me to send him the file once I completed it.

I began following the tutorial at around 8pm and completed it by 10.

Screen Shot 2016-01-11 at 13.45.59

https://www.redgiant.com/products/trapcode-particular/

I needed to download some software from red giant called trapcode particular to complete the galaxy. This was a free trial and there was a red cross over the top.

Screen Shot 2016-01-11 at 13.41.53

I thought I would be able to get rid of this after completing the galaxy. Two crosses had appeared one on top of the other. After completing the galaxy I googled how to erase the red cross.

I found a video and followed the instruction but no matter what I did I could only get rid of one cross. It was so frustrating and was taking forever trying to get rid of the second cross. I decided to start again and this time erased the cross before I started creating the galaxy. Worked this time so definitely a good learning experience. By the time I completed the galaxy after much stress and frustration it was 3am. I had updated the group on facebook chat continuously about the progress. I was feeling bad because I knew Karl was waiting for the file but he told me not to worry as he was still waiting for the rendering to complete. I sent him the file at 3 and he messaged back that he had received the file.

Screen Shot 2016-01-11 at 13.54.54 

Completed the galaxy in After Effects.

Leave a Reply

