Network Aesthetics – Week 8

This week was all about our presentations. It was a nervous day and as the hours counted down till the lesson was due the nerves really began to take over. Matt helped with an email in the morning giving us some settling thoughts so I just had to keep reminding myself of this and persevere with the thought that the presentations were going to go ahead no matter what, so I might as well get in the right head space.

I was quite confident that I had covered the criteria of the assignment in my presentation but was wondering if it might have been too much information. I had a games presentation last week and did not have enough detail so did not want to make that mistake again. Trying to create the right balance of having the criteria fulfilled I think I had all the relevant information plus a little more. Even though I wrote up the power point with references and quotes when I presented I had simplified a lot of the words for me to say because with a deaf voice I really struggle to say most words and talk for a long time consistently and continuously.

We were also recorded and were told that we would get our individual videos for our own reference. Facing the camera was even more nerve racking but I have learnt that you have to do whatever you have to do.

All the presentations were very interesting. There was a lot of variety of website ideas and most people seemed to have strong ideas the direction they wanted their websites to take. The question and answer sessions after each presentation helped clarify everyones ideas.

I was quite nervous about my presentation but it went ok. I felt I messed up a few words here and there but I stuck with the script and managed my presentation within about 10 minutes. The questions asked were simple enough to answer but I did struggle to hear what was being asked so was not sure if I answered correctly.

All in all it seemed to be quite a successful day for most students and we were all glad it was over. Just waiting for feedback now….

 

 

Leave a Reply

