Network Aesthetics – Assignment 1

Brainstorm

My first idea was to create a website to do with travelling. I discussed this with Matt, the lecturer and he thought it was a good idea. He explained about sites such as lonelyplanet.org and trip advisor. He said there was a lot of social networking aspects that can be involved in a travel website. some ideas i thought of are:

  • travellers uploading photos about where they visited and then others commenting on the image
  • photos of unusual places visited
  • photos of food and drink from different countries
  • conversations of the weather at any one time in different parts of the world
  • discussions about which airlines travel to different countries and their service

Once I got home and thought more about this idea I felt that this type of website has already been done so many times and could not think about how to create a unique idea for the travel social network website. Again I started brainstorming.

I don’t draw very well but like seeing other peoples illustrations. Of course uploading drawings and having people comment on them have already been done many times so I had to keep thinking how I could use this idea but make it more interesting and innovative. I find it hard to put in words what I want to say but the story board idea came because I have drawn them before for other modules. I thought it would be a good discussion point for users of my website to join together the variety of illustrations and create a completely new artistic piece. I thought using famous dialogues and quotes with the storyboard would complete the creative experience.

There are still lots of things to work out. For example could I upload pictures straight from other websites or do I need to have people upload to mine. Will it be a cut and paste format on a storyboard or is there another way of doing it.

My Idea:

Screen Shot 2015-10-03 at 22.24.06 Screen Shot 2015-10-03 at 22.24.21 Screen Shot 2015-10-03 at 22.24.33 Screen Shot 2015-10-03 at 22.24.43 Screen Shot 2015-10-03 at 22.24.56 Screen Shot 2015-10-03 at 22.25.10

Illustration with social networking Website

A website where people upload their illustrations and then have a choice to mix and match them to create a comic strip or a storyboard with famous dialogues from films.

Users can register their details with a log in system when uploading their illustrations. Members can also comment on each others work.

Once a member starts building a storyboard with the uploaded illustrations a forum takes place where people can comment on which direction the storyboard should take or an opinion on the final piece.

This website would be different because it is not just uploading drawings but also using them to create unique pieces of work that can be viewed by all members.

 

http://www.animatedbuzz.com/

http://www.floobynooby.com/comp1.html

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/film/what-to-watch/greatest-quotes/

http://www.filmsite.org/greatfilmquotes.html

http://www.illustrationweb.com/

http://www.awwwards.com/websites/art-illustration/

http://blog.raventools.com/the-ultimate-list-of-niche-social-networks/

I would probably use wordpress and buddypress because I have used this already for my blog. I will experiment with other systems like Elgg or even HTML and see how my website looks and develops.

After Thoughts

The class also discussed the type of users they would like to join their sites. Did we want anybody and everybody or was your site going to be more specialized. I decided to change my idea because after feedback I felt the storyboard idea was not attractive enough to create a social networking site and also I wanted people to upload work from all types of creativity. I decided to use my own course as inspiration and create a site for university students to upload work, comment and feedback. This idea came from the discussions the students have when we meet in the canteen and before lectures. I have decided to open my website to university students around the world but to join they must sign in with a legitimate university email address (similar to the beginnings of facebook). I am also thinking about letting employers join. These employers will from any art media companies  film, magazine illustrators etc. They could look at the work and maybe find people suitable to their organisation to employ.

 

Leave a Reply

