AVE Poster

We had to create a poster about audio visual experimentation for an exhibition being held in Talin, Estonia.

I created this poster in photoshop. I chose this design from a google image but was not to keen on the final look.

Screen Shot 2014-11-21 at 12.32.10

I kept in mind that the exhibition would be about the visuals linked to some kind of audio and wanted a design that would reflect gracefulness.

After much debate I decided to go ahead with the dance of the Indian peacock and use the peacocks tail in my design. The peacock is famous for dancing gracefully and the colours are bright and standout and can be seen from afar.

Initially I had the logo in the colours of the peacock and was going to go with darker shades for the tail. Once I started the design I felt that using similar colours was going to look to fussy.

Screen Shot 2014-11-21 at 12.32.51

I finally opted to keep the tail in the traditional colours and stretched it to the length of the poster.

Screen Shot 2014-11-21 at 12.33.07

The exhibition was going to be sponsored by the art museum of Estonia so I decided to keep the same colours for my logo as that of the museum. I felt that any extra design or colours would detract from the simplicity of the poster.

Screen Shot 2014-11-21 at 12.33.36

Screen Shot 2014-11-21 at 12.33.51

This is the screenshot of the image I chose the colours from for the peacocks tail.

peacocks-blue-abstract-michelle-barlondsmith

Here is my final poster. I think it is easy to understand and is visually eye catching.

AVE Poster Final

Improvement

After getting feedback I improved the poster to get a more modern and cutting edge feel.

Screen Shot 2014-11-28 at 19.44.32

I used the image of the building of the museum as the backdrop and used a cut out image with the exhibition info to create a new poster.

AVE Poster (improvement) breaking part

I prefer this poster because it is more contemporary looking.

Leave a Reply

