Dragonfly Robot – Week 8

During the lesson, I created a dragonfly robot in Cinema 4d and copied from http://www.arthrobots.com/mechanisoptera-dragonflies.html#. I have chosen an original image of a robot dragonfly.

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 21.57.48

Original Images of Dragonfly Robot

When I looked at the image it was quite daunting as I could not figure out how this could be created in cinema 4D but I was going to give it my best shot anyway!

Dragonfly Robot in Cinema 4D

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 22.04.14 Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 22.04.20Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 22.01.10Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 22.01.05

 

This is the dragonfly robot in Cinema 4D that I have created.  I used different tools such as cylinder, extrude, plane, symmetry and circle tools. I found it quite easy using the tools and creating the image though it was quite time consuming.

Dragonfly Robot Dragonfly Robot 6 Dragonfly Robot 5 Dragonfly Robot 4 Dragonfly Robot 3 Dragonfly Robot 2

 

Images of Dragonfly Robot with Shadow

I did render the Dragonfly Robot with shadow on it.

Dragonfly shadow Robot 1 Dragonfly shadow Robot 2 Dragonfly shadow Robot 3 Dragonfly shadow Robot 4 Dragonfly shadow Robot 5 Dragonfly shadow Robot 6

Here is my dragonfly robot. In the end it was not as complicated or hard to create as I first thought. When I look at my dragonfly robot I feel it is quite similar to the original image so I am very pleased with my work and it looks real.

Animation

I have decided to experiment and animate the dragonfly robot to fly around in a landscape.

1st part of dragonfly robot animation

I have made the dragonfly robot fly through the building, cross a river and fly around the stadium. I used the camera to target the dragonfly robot and follow it with the camera behind.

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 22.16.26 Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 22.16.19

This is the scene of the dragonfly robot animation in Cinema 4D.

Here is the animation of the dragonfly robot:

I found it went wrong because it was too fast and missed shots of the dragonfly. I didn’t realise that I have to click the camera target and figured it out so the next animation is more in sync.

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 22.29.26       Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 22.29.18

This shows how to follow using the camera more accurately.

This is much better animated.

I am quite pleased with my project.

Part 2 of Dragonfly Robot animation.

I was thinking that I would do another experiment to animate the dragonfly robot but this time creating lots of dragonflies flying around in the scene. It is similar to a plague of locusts. YUCK!

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 22.37.49 Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 22.37.56

This is part 2 of the dragonfly robot animation in Cinema 4D and I have added lots of dragonflies.

I think it looks pretty good and quite amazed with myself that I have been able to use all the stuff that we have learnt and able to link them together. I am very pleased with the two videos and am very confident using the tricks and tools in cinema 4d. I would like to do more animation at some point with other projects.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

